IEEE ICASSP 2022

2022 IEEE International Conference on Acoustics, Speech and Signal Processing

7-13 May 2022
  • Virtual (all paper presentations)
22-27 May 2022
  • Main Venue: Marina Bay Sands Expo & Convention Center, Singapore
  • Satellite Venue: Shenzhen, China (Postponed)

ICASSP 2022
Young Professionals Workshop
Fri, 13 May, 19:00 - 20:00 Singapore Time (UTC +8)
Fri, 13 May, 13:00 - 14:00 France Time (UTC +2)
Fri, 13 May, 11:00 - 12:00 UTC
Fri, 13 May, 07:00 - 08:00 New York Time (UTC -4)
Location: Virtual
Virtual
Live-Stream

Years not lost: How to stay attractive for industry while working in academia

Presented by Dr. Philipp Gramlich from NaturalScience.Careers

You do research at uni and love your work. However, you don't want to run into a dead-end street, being kicked out of the ivory tower in your early forties. Can you prepare yourself for a possible exit strategy, increasing your market value while working in academic research? With this presentation, we want to take a look at how you can make the most out of your time at uni. What is it actually that makes the employers out there keen to get to know you? We´ll take a look at activities, which not only increase your market value but which give you personal growth and which you will enjoy! And your professor? She´ll be happy with your extracurricular activities if she profits from having skilled staff. And if not? Then we can look at a couple of “sales strategies”.

Dr. Philipp Gramlich has studied and researched chemistry (>2800 citations, Google Scholar 2021) at five universities in Germany, Australia and Scotland. He gained experience in industry, first at baseclick, a biotechnology start-up and later at Eurofins Genomics as Teamleader R&D, QC and Analytics, being responsible for up to 22 staff. Since 2016, he is fully focusing on his work as co-founder of NaturalScience.Careers. He specialises in seminars and talks about career development, leadership and presentation skills. Since 2016, he regularly writes career columns for Nachrichten aus der Chemie.