IEEE ICASSP 2022

2022 IEEE International Conference on Acoustics, Speech and Signal Processing

7-13 May 2022
  • Virtual (all paper presentations)
22-27 May 2022
  • Main Venue: Marina Bay Sands Expo & Convention Center, Singapore
  • Satellite Venue: Shenzhen, China (Postponed)

ICASSP 2022
IKN-1: Jaime Teevan - "Building Bridges for the Hybrid Era"
Tue, 24 May, 11:00 - 12:00 Singapore Time (UTC +8)
Tue, 24 May, 05:00 - 06:00 France Time (UTC +2)
Tue, 24 May, 03:00 - 04:00 UTC
Mon, 23 May, 23:00 - 00:00 New York Time (UTC -4)
Location: Sands Ballroom E - L
In-Person
Live-Stream
Industry Keynote
Presented by: Dr. Jaime Teevan: Chief Scientist & Technical Fellow, Microsoft Corporation

Chair: Haizhou Li, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Shenzhen, China

Dr. Jaime Teevan

Abstract

We’re in the middle of the most significant change to work practices that we’re likely to see in our lifetimes. For the past several millennia, space has been the primary technology people have used to get things done. The coming Hybrid Work Era, however, will be shaped by digital technology, and our ability to successfully bridge between physical and digital contexts will require a human-centric approach to signal processing. In this talk I will give an overview of what research tells us about emerging work practices following the rapid move to remote and hybrid in March 2020, and discuss the opportunity for signal processing to create a new – and better – future of work (http://aka.ms/nfw).

Biography

Dr. Jaime Teevan is Chief Scientist and Technical Fellow at Microsoft, where she is responsible for driving research-backed innovation in the company's core products. Jaime is an advocate for finding smarter ways for people to make the most of their time, and believes in the positive impact that breaks and recovery have on productivity. She leads Microsoft's future of work initiative, which brings researchers from Microsoft, LinkedIn, and GitHub together to study how the pandemic has changed the way people work. Previously she was Technical Advisor to CEO Satya Nadella and led the Productivity team at Microsoft Research. Jaime has received numerous awards for her research, including the Technology Review TR35, Borg Early Career, Karen Sparck Jones, and SIGIR Test of Time awards. She holds a Ph.D. in AI from MIT and a B.S. from Yale, and is affiliate faculty at the University of Washington.