IEEE ICASSP 2022

2022 IEEE International Conference on Acoustics, Speech and Signal Processing

7-13 May 2022
  • Virtual (all paper presentations)
22-27 May 2022
  • Main Venue: Marina Bay Sands Expo & Convention Center, Singapore
  • Satellite Venue: Shenzhen, China (Postponed)

ICASSP 2022
EXP-7: Patent: How to make it stronger and more profitable
Thu, 26 May, 14:00 - 15:00 Singapore Time (UTC +8)
Thu, 26 May, 08:00 - 09:00 France Time (UTC +2)
Thu, 26 May, 06:00 - 07:00 UTC
Thu, 26 May, 02:00 - 03:00 New York Time (UTC -4)
Location: TBD
In-Person
Live-Stream
Expert
Akihiko K. Sugiyama, Yahoo! JAPAN Research, Tokyo, Japan

This talk presents an overview of patents from a technical and business point of view with an emphasis on the value. Patents are defined by the law in many countries to protect the rights of the inventor. Patent application documents take a special form which is often difficult to read and write for non-experts. Through explanation of items in the patent application documents, how to make your patent stronger and profitable in business is presented. A patent lawsuit example and some actual application documents make the talk easier to understand. Although patent attorneys generally undertake the drafting process, the audience learns that serious commitment of the inventor to drafting a patent is essential to strong and profitable patents.

Speaker Biography

Akihiko Sugiyama (a.k.a. Ken Sugiyama), affiliated with Yahoo! JAPAN Research, has been engaged in a wide variety of research projects in signal processing such as audio coding and interference/noise control. Prior to Yahoo Japan, he had a long career at NEC Central Research Laboratories as a research engineer. He served as the Chair of Audio and Acoustic Signal Processing Technical Committee, Signal Processing Society (SPS), as associate editor for Trans. Signal Processing, as the Secretary and a Member at Large to the SPS Conference Board, as a member of the SPS Awards Board, as the Chair of SPS Japan Chapter, and a member of IEEE Fellow Committee. He was a Technical Program Chair for ICASSP2012. Currently, he serves as a member of the IEEE Fellow Committee and the IEEE James Clerk Maxwell Medal Committee. He has contributed to 17 chapters of books and is the inventor of 217 registered patents with more pending applications in the field of signal processing. He received 20 awards such as the 2002 IEICE Best Paper Award, the 2006 and 2018 IEICE Achievement Award, the 2013 Ichimura Industry Award, and the 2021 IEICE Distinguished Achievement and Contribution Award. He has delivered 167 invited talks in 87 cities of 30 countries. He is a past SPS Distinguished Industry Speaker, a Renowned Distinguished Speaker (The Rock Star) for Consumer Technology Society (CTS) and a past Distinguished Lecturer for SPS and CTS.