IEEE ICASSP 2022

2022 IEEE International Conference on Acoustics, Speech and Signal Processing

7-13 May 2022
  • Virtual (all paper presentations)
22-27 May 2022
  • Main Venue: Marina Bay Sands Expo & Convention Center, Singapore
  • Satellite Venue: Shenzhen, China (Postponed)

ICASSP 2022
EXP-5: Toward trustworthy human-centered machine intelligence
Wed, 25 May, 16:00 - 17:00 Singapore Time (UTC +8)
Wed, 25 May, 10:00 - 11:00 France Time (UTC +2)
Wed, 25 May, 08:00 - 09:00 UTC
Wed, 25 May, 04:00 - 05:00 New York Time (UTC -4)
Location: TBD
In-Person
Live-Stream
Expert
Shrikanth (Shri) Narayanan, University of Southern California, USA

Converging developments across the machine intelligence ecosystem, from sensing and computing to data sciences, are enabling new human-centered technology applications in domains ranging from health and defense to education and media arts. A critical aspect of this endeavor requires addressing two intertwined challenges: understanding and illuminating the rich diversity across people and contexts and creating trustworthy technologies that work for everyone. This talk will highlight, with exemplary use cases of bio-behavior sensing and inference for predicting human physical and psychological states (e.g., health status, stress levels), the challenges and opportunities in creating trustworthy signal processing and machine learning approaches that are inclusive, equitable, robust, safe and secure e.g., with respect to protected variables such as gender/race/age/ability etc.

Speaker Biography

Shrikanth (Shri) Narayanan is University Professor and Niki & C. L. Max Nikias Chair in Engineering at the University of Southern California, where he is Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering, Computer Science, Linguistics, Psychology, Neuroscience, Pediatrics, and Otolaryngology—Head & Neck Surgery, Director of the Ming Hsieh Institute and Research Director of the Information Sciences Institute. Prior to USC he was with AT&T Bell Labs and AT&T Research. He is a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors, the Acoustical Society of America, IEEE, ISCA, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the Association for Psychological Science, and the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering. He is presently VP for Education for the IEEE Signal Processing Society. He has received several honors including the 2015 Engineers Council’s Distinguished Educator Award, a Mellon award for mentoring excellence, the 2005 and 2009 Best Transactions Paper awards from the IEEE Signal Processing Society and serving as its Distinguished Lecturer for 2010-11, a 2018 ISCA CSL Best Journal Paper award, and serving as an ISCA Distinguished Lecturer for 2015-16, Willard R. Zemlin Memorial Lecturer for ASHA in 2017, and the Ten Year Technical Impact Award in 2014 and the Sustained Accomplishment Award in 2020 from ACM ICMI. He has published over 900 papers and has been granted eighteen U.S. patents.